LOST BOY REVIEW | IF YOU LOVE EVIL PAN, THIS IS THE BOOK FOR YOU

Lost Boy by Christina Henry

my rating: ★★★★★

tags: classics retelling

goodreads rating: 4.2

Lost Boy

reviewsynopsis

There is one version of my story that everyone knows. And then there is the truth. This is how it happened. How I went from being Peter Pan’s first—and favorite—lost boy to his greatest enemy.

reviewthereview

Okay, so I’m going to preface this review by saying that last year I read Peter Pan and I honestly didn’t really care for it. I am also not the biggest fan of  the Disney film. That being said, After reading this book I am now a massive Peter Pan fanatic and yeah, I’ll admit it, I am slghtly obsessed with the world now.

THIS BOOK MADE ME THINK

Lost Boy has made me think. I never cared for the idea of Peter Pan, even when I was reading the original story I just couldn’t bring myself to care about the characters of the world but this book really made me wonder about how Peter got to Neverland and why he needs the Lost Boys in the first place.

I HAD TO THNK SO MUCH AND I’M NOT EVEN MAD.

EVIL PAN COULD SAVE A LIFE

In the original story (sorry all you Disney fans), Pan is actually a bit evil and definitely a murderer. Basically, in the original, he strives off of his kills, and it’s much the same in this version.

Evil Pan is amazing and Chistina Henry does not shy away from how brutal he can be as a character.

EDITION AWARENESS

So, if you have the edition that I showed at the top of the post then you should be spoiler-less. However, if you have the other edition then you know who this book is about and you should understand why I enjoyed it so much.

I would recommend not reading anything about this book before reading it though and you should definitely go in as blind as possible so you can figure everything out in your own time as you read.

This book took me for a complete loop I’d honestly never thought the world before. I’ve never thought about the main character or word of Peter Pan before and now I can’t stop thinking about it and I may have gone slightly insane whoops.

reviewwillicontinue

This actually just a standalone but I will definitely be reading more of Christina Henry’s novels, I think she has an Alice inspired series, and another book coming out next year which is about The Little Mermaid, another story I know nothing about.

So yes, I will definitely be reading whatever else she puts out.

yourthoughtsarrowfeature

Have you read Lost Boy? Do you like Peter Pan?

fridgesgoodreadsiconinstagramiconpinteresticontumblricontwittericon

Advertisements

8 thoughts on “LOST BOY REVIEW | IF YOU LOVE EVIL PAN, THIS IS THE BOOK FOR YOU

    1. I never was either, I didn’t enjoy the original book and thought the films were overrated, but Lost Boy really made me love the whole idea of him. It made me really appreciate the story J. M. Barrie thought up!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh my gosh, yes! This is definitely a fantastic book, especially if you are a Pan fan. This really made me question who Pan was as a character and I loved that, it made me think about how he got to Neverland and how Neverland even exists, also it gives some insight into other characters which I found really interesting!

      Like

Tell me your thoughts!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s